Leeds & District Union of Golf Clubs


Spring Fourball

On a beautiful Spring Day at Moortown Golf Club 113 pairs of golfers competed for the annual Spring Fourball Championship and the F. Lawson Brown Trophy. This is a record entry for the event which was first played in 1936 and fittingly a past Captain of Moortown and Leeds Union President in 1935  Mr. F. Lawson Brown donated the magnificent silver trophy which has been presented to the winners each year ever since.

The competition this year was well contested with the first pair from Normanton, Des Lawson and Dean Mountain, setting the pace with 41 points which they thought would be beaten. The Wakefield pair, Salvatore Silvestri and Robert McDiarmid, posted a score of 43 points which was matched by Moor Allerton pair Benjamin Weardon and Paul Bolster,  Pontefract pair Maurice Ludwell and Graham Boothroyd then Howley Hall pair Jerry Wood and John Dodgson.

However the Howley Hall pair of John Richardson and Stephen Hobson posted a great score of 44 points which was later matched by Wakefield pair Michael Bradley and Simon Clare but unfortunately they were beaten on the back 9 holes to the title by the Howley boys who scored 24 points.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.