Leeds & District Union of Golf Clubs


1st Division Team Championship

The Union held the 1st Division Team Championship at Scarcroft, home club of President Mike Gallagher. With the wind playing a big part in the proceedings home Club Scarcroft set the early pace with the team of Phil Joynes, John Rea and Rob Pettican carding a score of 13 over par. Like many events it was the last two clubs to play - Horsforth and Garforth  - who challenged this score. The evergreen Andy King shot a superb 69 to retain the Swithenbank Trophy and help his team (Ashley Smith and Steve Carlisle) to  a team score of 13 over par not quite good enough to beat Scarcroft on count back. However the Horsforth team of Simon Hurd, Liam Bennett and Sean Ryan carded a superb 11 over gross to take the Nelson Grimshaw Trophy.

The triumphant Horsforth team of Simon Hurd, Liam Bennett and Sean Ryan being presented with the Nelson Grimshaw trophy by Union President Elect, Geoff Mortimer.

Andy King (Garforth) is presented with the Swithenbank Trophy by President Elect, Geoff Mortimer. 

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.