Leeds & District Union of Golf Clubs


2nd Division Team Championship

The Union held its first post COVID lock down event at Wike Ridge on 20 May 2021. The 2nd Division Team Championship, proudly sponsored by Ludwell Electrical, is a 4 man team medal event played from scratch with all 4 scores counting.

The green staff worked wonders in getting the course ready but  a storm of biblical proportions on 19th May played havoc with the bunkers. Nevertheless 80 competitors from 20 clubs braved the cold and windy morning and, whilst the rain held off until midday, some good scores were posted  by the opening groups. 

First out Wike Ridge were long time leaders with a score of 371, 11 ahead of Moor Allerton and Cookridge Hall. 

However, the Wetherby quartet  of Mark Bleanch, Stuart King, Anthony Sitek and Michael Thompson came in with a fantastic score of 369 to win by 2 and so claim the J.H. Robinson Trophy.  Oulton Hall scored a fine 373 to finish third.

Dean Jones (Whitwood)  recorded the best individual score of 81 and received the Bill Darby Trophy


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.